Generative Criticism – Chopped and Screwed Music

The artifact I’ve selected for generative criticism is chopped and screwed music as an entity. More specifically, this artifact is curious in how it distorts the perspective through which listeners hear previously written songs. There are a number of common key features which are persistent throughout the genre. These include a significantly slowed tempo, an assortment of record-scratching techniques, an emphasis on Southern hip hop, and an abundance of references to cough syrup containing codeine and promethazine. The codeine allusions aren’t just thoughtless references, but instead point to the origins of chopped and screwed music itself. The commonly perceived effects of the drug (including the distortion and slowing down of sound) run parallel to the key attributes of the genre.

The most notable example of this artifact is an interpretation of UGK’s “One Day” by DJ Screw, the godfather of chopped and screwed music. This example contains all of the elements listed above, and is quite indicative of the qualities of the genre as a whole.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y4qntzxdoF0

One response to “Generative Criticism – Chopped and Screwed Music

  1. I thought this analysis was pretty cool. I listen to a lot, and I mean a lot of hip hop music and I never really liked the chopped and screwed thing. I thought it could add cool effects to songs used selectively but the whole slow motion feel of it used to drive me bonkers. Because of that I never really knew much about it. I guess this is the cool thing about generative criticism though, that the critic can bring out what they want from the artifact. The elements you brought in to explain the music made me see and interpret it in a new way. I was immediately more of a fan of this kind of music just because now it makes sense with the connections you made. There was a method to the madness. Great job!

Leave a comment